.NET n00b seeking sage advice and/or tales of caution from wiser devs

Hey all,

New to the forum, but have been watching the show for a year or two now. Judging from the show and what I’ve seen on the forum so far, I figured this community is a better place than most to look for some good advice.

The situation:
I was a hardware tech that was recently promoted to an App Dev position maintaining a set of a dozen or so .NET Framework apps. I’ve been slowly piecing together what each app does and have been able to fix some bugs, but I’ve discovered that we’re running apps on Framework versions as old as 4.5. Per MS, that version is EOL and to me…that doesn’t feel safe so I want to do something about it. It could be overly cautious of me?

My “ideal” goal:
My ideal goal is to set up the apps to all target .NET 6.0, for the long-term support and newer runtime. I’m aware that Framework 4.8 is supported but…I don’t know if I trust that. I plan on trying to follow this track for the web-app portion and then…google the server side stuff.

Why I’m bringing it here:
Unfortunately, because of the company I work for, I don’t have a Senior dev that can help correct any mistakes. I’m the only one who does what I do, and I’m still learning my job. For that reason, I am pro-actively seeking some guidance or tales of caution from the community as to the scope of this kind of endeavor before I start actually breaking things. Most of the apps are used on a daily basis, and our business is scrapping together as much data as they can to keep up with the economy, so down time is not met with very happy people :woozy_face:.

N00b questions: