Need your thoughts on this piece of software

hey guys, I’m a hobbyist 3D artist, and I know a thing or two on how to work with blender and some other open source projects that interact with it.
now, I’ve been seeing this software a lot in the open source community named FreeCAD and never got to dip my feet in and explore it, as I’m afraid it’s either a waste of time or too complicated to be a part of hobbyist arsenal. But I’m still attracted to it because of things I’ve seen people make with it -mainly archviz and part-design and some engineering stuff which I think is super cool-.
so here I am asking for your thoughts and opinions about it, thanks in advance.
be61c2c6

I personally avoid it as much as possible. It is cool that there finally is a parametric cad system with code available, that runs on linux, but it ends there. I really don’t like the interface, and loathe (When I last tried to use it, about a year ago, if this has changed for the better, and I really hope it has, please let me know, it would make it viable for me to use) the 2d sketch editor.

In terms of complexity, the software is manageable. I have been around cad systems for a long time, despite only working properly with them once across a year, but it is quite easy to grasp the basics of how to create and work on parts in parametric. Where the learning curve comes in is knowing what features to look for, how to find and apply them in the interface of the cad system. For me, this is where freecad fell a long way short, I just don’t get it, it feels like I have to play a game of chess against it every time I try and work out how to use a feature I know I want. Other [parametric] cad systems are much more intuitive and similar about the workflow.