Need suggestions on my first RTS

Hey everyone, I've recently thought about trying an rts. grey goo caught my attention as people labeled it as a slower paced game (maybe easier to learn? idk) or should i get sc2 ? (sadly these are the only 2 i know of). If you have any suggestions about these games or other ones lemme know. Thanks 

The first two RTS games I started playing were Age of Empires 2, and Dawn of War: Dark Crusade.

I think they helped me get better at RTS games, although I am no master. Dark Crusade is a pretty straight forward RTS that could help you get a feel of what things are like. 

ok cool, ill check it out

Might want to have a look into the Command and Conquer games as well. I know there was the complete pack released not that long ago which had the entire series included for not very much.

will do, thanks

I have played Starcraft ladder since it first came out and have been playing Starcraft 2 ladder off and on for the past few years. The community is pretty decent, the campaigns have great stories, and gameplay is unparalleled in the RTS genre. I also bough Grey Goo on release and I have to say its basically Command and Conquer done right the menus make gameplay really smooth the AI is smart and the races work together in really interesting ways in multiplayer. I would also recommend Age of Empires 2 HD, Red Alert 3, and Sid Meyers: Beyond Earth, and Shogun: Total War if you want to give turn based a shot.

command and conquer 3 + kane's wrath are the best of the cc's, i still play them today on skirmish.

Currently playing grey goo but it is the least interesting of all the games I am currently playing.

Starcraft 2 is a must, seriously sweet game.

You can't go wrong with WarCraft 3 + Frozen Throne.

dune 2000

Warzone 2100 - it's free and has MP. wz2100.net

0 A.D.

I am partial to the Total  Anhilation and Supreme Comander Games. I lkie not having to micro manage the economy as much.