Need some feedback on database schema

Hi all,

In my spare time, I’e been doing tech repairs for the people around in my community. To help keep things recorded and organised (And to give me an excuse to program), I figured I would create a basic database to record jobs I’ve done. Included in the jobs are parts used and services performed, as well as recording the devices and clients. If possible, I would love some feedback, as I’m not an expert in database design. I would consider myself average, at best.

Also, ignore the user table for now. I’m not sure yet if I want to use that for authentication into the program I’m making, or if I’ll just use existing MySQL user and password for authentication.

I would say actually use the user in your schematic. Then you could associate another key for a job to whoever created it. Or for the service to who performed it etc

Even though it’s just you. Designing for scale now means if this took off to a small business or something then you are already setup for it

Manufacturer and product type should be inlined, you can put an index over those and their cardinality is low.

You’ll need some kind of log, either within a database or outside of it - you’ll want some timestamps and usernames and some kind of action log somewhere.

How do you mean inlined? Like making a manufacturer/product type field in the product and part tables? I would have thought that would increase the amount of redundant data, no?

That’s a nice idea, actually. Might seem redundant now, but I guess down the line if this takes off, I’d be prepared.

In general it looks OK. By looking at it I can imagine whats it is all about. As always, it might be that you might be missing something that is very important for your business, but without at least few hour interview and then few more clarifications no one can tell definitely.