Need help for QEMU/KVM deployment

Hi, i’m new to linux world. I just finished building a homelab off of my old rig and installed CentOS8 with Server.
Currently, in a dead end here. Need help for installing a fedora virtual machine. I could not get it to show anything so far.

My virt-install setup:
virt-install
–name myfedora
–ram 4096
–disk path=/home/qemu/images/myfedora.img,size=50
–vcpus 2 --os-type linux
–network bridge=br0
–graphics spice
–console pty,target_type=serial
–cdrom=/mnt/flashcopy/Fedora-Workstation-Live-x86_64-32-1.6.iso

From virsh list, it say running:
Id Name State

1 myfedora running

I’m actually have no idea which the correct to access VM, so far I tried virt-viewer, virsh console myfedora. None working.

When I use:
[root@localhost ~]# virsh console myfedora
Connected to domain myfedora
Escape character is ^]

and nothing happen.

I’m using my windows pc to access the CentOS8 both from web console and putty. Totally in dead end situation here. Really need some help.
Reason for why not using virt-manager in gui is I want to learn linux and after spending time using centos on virtualbox, I found out that most of the time I was using the terminal to navigate files. So would like to give headless server a try. Thanks!

You need a baseline to ensure things are working. HDD space is cheap. install virt-manager, make sure things are working. If they are not fix it using virt manager. Everything done there has an equivalent command line argument. Once you figure out what needs to be done to get the VM working and access, research those additional commands and start over.

It is okay to learn, but you cannot learn when you don’t know what you don’t know. No one will fault you for using the GUI during you journey to acquire knowledge.

1 Like

For an installation I would download the ISO and try something like this:

sudo virt-install --name myfedora \
                  --ram 4096 \
                  --disk path=./myfedora,size=50 \