Need advice recovering data from HDD

I’ve been running a 2TB Seagate drive for a few years without issue. It was only when I would save images from Facebook that it would take 5 to 10 seconds sometimes to allow me to save to the drive.
Only yesterday I was playing a game and every time it had to load a level it would take about 10 seconds and then stutter within the first few seconds of play. I’ve had this with the laptop as well but thought it was just a slow drive.

Anyway, after stopping the game I ran WIndows Check disk on it, initially it said it was fine but then it locked up on me. After ten minutes it came back. I then ran Firefox but it locked up, wouldn’t close properly even using Task Manager. So I had no choice but to reset.

Looking in the BIOS the drive had disappered and Windows was taking a lot longer to boot up. The drive was recognised in Disk Management but wasn’t initialised. When I tried (MBR or GPT) it would say the drive cannot be found.

I tried it in another machine and it was regonised in the BIOS but not in Windows. I then tried Disk Director to make a copy and got the message:
'Failed to read from sector 2,048 of hard drive 2. Try to repeat the operation. If the error persists, check the disk using Check Disk Utility and create a backup of the disk.'
It’s not available to read from, only the drive I want to copy to.

Are there any recommended Check Disk Utilities I could try on this disk? I do have a backup of a lot of the drive but would like to see if I can get one last gasp from it just to check.

Any advice appreciated, thanks.

1 Like

That is in all likelihood an almost dead drive.
I would recommend unpluging it and plug it in over USB on another running system, then you may be able to check. Do NOT re-initilize the drive or anything and do not write anything to it if possible.
If you want a good tool for something like that then try Testdisk.

1 Like