NAS ZFS with differing drive sizes, What NAS OS should i use?

Im going to build my first (i stand corrected, second) NAS and i need help choosing the right software.

I would like to be able to use ZFS because it sounds amazing but i would also like to be able to use hard drives of differing sizes in my NAS.

Right now i have a 6TB seagate drive and i am looking to get a couple 8tb WD elements drives to shuck. I want to combine all of these in the NAS.

Primarily this will be a plex server. But i would like to really play around with this. I would like to have an OS that supports some kind of containerization and it would be a big bonus if i could use a VM on the server for playing games in lan with my primary pc.

I have never used ZFS or RAID before. I understand the dataloss risks of a naively configured array.

I know that unraid supports this but that’s about all i know. Does Proxmox? What about other OS’s? Even if i can do this with unraid, should i?

Alternatively, a good idea for what i can do in the nas with that 6tb hard drive without using it with zfs?

I really i have no idea what NAS OS would be best for me. I dont need a gui a command line is fine. I consider myself an relatively advanced user and i would prefer a OS with more customization rather then less, in other words something for me to grow in to.

Personally, I just use a base install of FreeBSD, however if you want a UI to manage a ZFS pool, then check out FreeNAS, now known as TrueNAS Core as of release 12.

Whatever drive you install TrueNAS Core OS to, you won’t be able to use it for data storage, so a small SSD or even a fast USB thumb drive to boot from would be ideal.

Problem with Free/trueNAS is that it does not support a ZFS with different sized drives :frowning:

Just make multiple pools?

Use the 6tb drive as a single drive ZFS pool. Then use the shucked 8tb drives as another pool, mirrored or striped mirrors.