Naive Questions WRT Data Science / Machine Learning Hardware

TLDR

I need to buy a workstation or server for a Data Scientist with an ~$10K budget. How do I get my money’s worth? Is it worth spending the extra money on an A6000 or A40 (requires a rack-style enclosure)? If so what’s the best way to go about virtualizing the hardware?

Background

I’m a Software Engineer who started working on a startup that uses some “AI” about a year ago, we recently raised some money and are on track to have our first hire in around two weeks.

This is also the first time I ever worked with CV or ML. I was about to hobble together some prototypes that impressed investors, customers, and some experts in our domain. I also fully realize I know just enough to be dangerous, so we’re putting this into some actually competent hands before we roll this out to production customers.

We’re bringing on a Senior Data Scientist in the next two weeks and looking at the possibility of bringing on a slightly less senior person to work with them in the next 1-2 months.

I need to give these people the resources they need to do their job.

My Current Development Hardware / Workflow

I managed to make use of my Gaming PC (8700K, 16GB RAM, 2080Ti, 500GB SSD – for Linux) for the work I’ve done so far. I’ve also experimented with some machines on Lambda Labs and AWS EC2.

I use a MBP as my primary machine (work tasks, development) and then use my linux “workstation” to actually run my experiments / pipelines. I want to re-use this paradigm (i.e. MBP as the “work” laptop, a remote server / workstation that allows the heavy lifting to be done).

The Hardware Dilemma