My first homelab

Hi all,

New member here, asking for advice for my first Homelab.
My previous “homelab” was a simple Raspberry pi running Home Assistant and, until now, I am only mirroring my data using Windows utility (please do not be to harsh… I know it is far from good practice) + keep an off-site backup for non recoverable stuff.

To be completely honest:

• I am new to homelabs
  • I am relatively new to linux
  • I am new to VMs
  • I have used proxmox for the first time 2 weeks ago
  • My current hardware setup is mostly based on donations/parts I had laying around

Here is my current machine:

• Motherboard: MSI PRO-B550-VC

• CPU: 5700X

• RAM: 2*16 GB of Corsair Vengeance 3600 MHz CL18, I do not intend to apply DOCP (yeah RGB… like I’ve said, parts laying around)

• Boot drive: 2* P1600X 118GB optane (OK these one were not laying around… I bought specifically for this project)

• PSU: Corsair RM650

• I also have an old video card I used for the first install, but I am not running headless.

I am also planning to buy/install:

• HP H220 HBA Card (LSI 9207-8i)
  • 3* 16TB Exos drives
  • 2* 8TB Ironwolf drives (currently installed in my desktop PC)
  • 2* 240 GB SSD (old Sandisk and Lexus drives rescued from previous machines, still healthy)

My plan right now would be the following:

• Install Proxmox on bare metal mirroring the 2 optane drives
    • Connect the 2*240 GB SSD to the sata controller on MOBO and mount them in Proxmox as a ZFS mirror for VM backups/snapshots
  • Install Truenas (Scale/Core?) in a VM
    • HBA passthrough
    • Connect all the HDD to the HBA card and have 2 pool (316TB with 1 drive of redundancy and 28TB mirror)
    • Use Truenas exclusively as a NAS
  • Install Home Assistant OS in a VM
    • install add-ons for Zigbee2MQTT
  • Install Jellyfin in a CT and mount the SMB share to the ZFS1 pool

I am really terrified I will do something wrong and lose a lot of data as a result.