MSI z97 UEFI VMWare 12 cannot install Manjaro

Hello all, I'm running VMWare 12 in Windows 10, MSI z97 Mobo with VT-d enabled, i7-4790, Manjaro KDE 1509-x86_64, tried with both Linux kernel 3.x 64 bit and 2.x 64 bit and no joy. It will get to the installation screen, but after trying a few of the options, all get stuck in the splash screen, now it doesn't even get past the Manjango screen with the five dots under it. Anyone run into this, found a thread in the VMWare forum of the same issue but there were no replies.

When the splash screen pops up, you could try pressing the down arrow on your keyboard to see whats actually going on behind the splash screen. Did you check the md5 or sha sums to see if the isos were good?

SHA1 is good, keys don't seem to do anything. Linux Mint KDE is giving me a hard time too. I'm a newb with VM's and Linux and today a buddy told me that Windows 10 with UEFI has been an issue. I think its PEBKAC. I get Ubuntu 14.04, ADHD and Kali 2.0 to install without issue. I'm starting to shoot in the dark spinning up new machines using Debian instead of Linux 4.x etc.

What was the issue with Mint? Same?

Nope, Mint gets into the desktop environment- first attempt I started to install from there and I had not allocated enough hard drive space. Deleted and started the setup again (with larger hard drive space) and now clicking on anything in the desktop environment does not work (like the clicker in the mouse does not work). Kind of bummed my only Linux experience so far is Ubuntu and failure- I would like to see distros outside of Unity, maybe even give the Linux challenge here a honest shot.

Still can't get Mint KDE working, but used Debian 8.x 64bit for a Mint Cinnamon ISO- I like the look, but getting a warning that video hardware acceleration is not working so "much higher than normal CPU usage" could be an issue.