Media Server Justification\Worthiness

To start, I want to say I am a long time viewer\consumer of LevelOne content and have enjoyed it very much. There are so many great content creators out there, the competition is fierce, so it is a true achievement to be among the best. This is my first time posting.

Recently, I have had an itch to build a home server with various functions in mind. A primary function of this server would be to store and present a collection of movies, shows, audiobooks, music, etc. The idea of owning one’s own media sounds appealing as does forgoing monthly fees from streaming services, but when I do the math, it seems to me the streaming services simply offer a superb product at a low cost.

As a person who is against piracy, I would need to procure all of the things I would like to watch legally. Additionally, the cost of the server, storage, power consumption, and backups would be much more than years and years and years of streaming services. I understand costs can be greatly mitigated by utilizing the used market for media, buying a responsible server with low power consumption, etc, but even when taking one’s time and waiting for deals, I just don’t see the cost benefit.

Am I looking at this this the wrong way? Do the reasons to self host one’s own media server not include cost savings?

The advantages I see are as follows:

1. Immunity to content no longer being available
  2. Immunity to internet outages
  3. No Advertisements

Am I missing something? Should I look at self hosting a media server as more of a hobby\passion project than something that saves me in the long run?

Thanks for everyone’s input and Happy New Year.

2 Likes