Manjaro will not boot with undervolted CPU Turns off/on infinite loop

Hey everyone. I am very new to Linux and I am having a complication I don’t know how to solve. For starters I have an Intel 9900KS set to 4.8ghz with a voltage of 1.22v with a Gigabyte Aorus Z390i Motherboard inside a SSUPD Meshlicious case. I moved away from water cooling and wanted to go with Air cooling but in order to keep my temps under control I had to under volt and under clock my CPU. Unfortunately in doing so I can no longer boot into Manjaro. Windows works flawlessly, but every time I try to boot into Manjaro after pressing enter on the boot loader, the entire PC will shut down about a second and half after that and will do so indefinitely until I change the VCore back to AUTO.

Is there something by chance that Manjaro or Linux in general is looking for or doesn’t like about my bios settings? I definitely want to learn Linux but this problem is keeping me from even running the OS.

I figure this, LTT forums and Manjaro forums I hopefully will get this tackled.

What testing have you done in Windows to determine it stable?

Played games, ran cinebench, AIDA64, runs like normal as far as I can tell

1 Like

Linux CPU power management is different from Windows, and it’s known to cause problems with certain platforms. Typically, you hear about it with first or second gen Ryzen, though.
I think it’s very likely that your CPU undervolt isn’t stable when dropping to idle, and Windows is just handling ramping down better.

When using negative voltage offsets, this is a common problem, as you often have much less overhead to reduce idle voltage and remain stable. If you used a fixed voltage, it should solve your problem at the cost of higher idle temps/power draw and a shorter(but still probably very long) CPU use life.