Macbook for programming

hey everyone,

so i just started my first semester at a new school. and this one i noticed a lot more macbooks running around the CS/SE department. do you guys think a macbook might be a good investment for programming? thinking about it, its already got the mac os on it. if i use virtual box and run linux and windows inside VMs then i could work on all three platforms and only have one system (albeit without full acceleration but im not a graphics programmer). but the cost kinda puts me off a bit. what do you guys think? worth the cost?

Personal if i would ever buy Macbook the first reason (and maybe the only) is for the spec.I would probably run Linux/mac OS dualboot and WIndows on VM.

what do you mean for the specs?

it's way overpriced for what you get, i think that's what he's trying to say

The only reason I'd get a macbook would be for the build quality, but would avoid them anyway for the lack of customisability (harder if not impossible to get into to add more RAM/switch out for new drives etc.). I don't really like the keyboards either. You might not be bothered though, and might even like the keyboards on 'em. Whatever floats your boat!

If you're getting something for programming, you really want a nice keyboard. Perhaps also a screen with decent viewing angles for the sake of ease when showing others things.

the keyboard is a good point. i should probably go try the keys out and see if i like them

its only worth the cost if you were gonna become an ios or osx dev and nothing else, other than that i would go the vm route with an aorus x7 or something

Each to their own, you can write code on whatever really, go with is the easiest for you to use and provides a comfortable long haul typing experience - spongy laptop keyboards will make you wanna break stuff.

Check out the newest generation of Dell XPS laptops. The look nice, the specs are solid, and Dell customer support treats you like an enterprise customer.