LXC and Virtual Machine Manager

Can someone point me to a how-to on how to use LXC and Virtual Machine Manager? I’m new to LXC so I kind of don’t know exactly how it works. In the GUI, I chose “operating system container”, then the next screen is OS root directory, which I entered “/” and it booted. When I installed the app I wanted to install (plex) it installed on the host machine.

Some help would be appreciated!

Is there a reason you want to use lxc over virtual machines?
My opinion is if you want to learn more about them than build and set it up from command line. I have messed with lxc a bit and someone else on this form has some more extensive work from them. @Vitalius seems to know some more than me.

There is a thread where a few of us discussed lxc and some links to helpful tutorials if I remember correctly.
Not turning you away from it just want some further insight so I can help you more.

1 Like

It asked you for the root of the container. Of course the root of your host is /, why would VMM even have to ask that? So you actually did install plex into the container, but you were really just using your host as container.

You first have to create a directory that will act as the container’s root and put all of the container’s files into it. Then run VMM and point it to that directory. I’m pretty sure VMM tells you this on container creation.

1 Like

I suggest learning about containers, how they operate and the file system hierarchy of Linux. There are many good talks/presentations on YouTube.

I don’t know what GUI or whatever you are using. But to give you the quick rundown: Containers have a root directory on your hosts file system. Remember your hosts file system always starts with “/”. When running a container (LXC, Jails, Zones) LXC in your case, a directory must be created on the host (such as “/containers/lxc/ubuntu”) to house the file system the container needs. What you have done is made the containers root directory the same as your hosts.