Low power server

Hello,
I’m a developer and I would like to make a home server that could handle those task :

• Coding remotely (no way !)
  • Some containers for services that I develop
  • NVR container to handle 4 or 5 cameras
  • 1 or 2 VMs
  • Gaming server (like Minecraft/Sons of the forest etc)
  • Storage server

In the time, I will maybe use it for learning AI and using it as a plex server

The OS will be UNRAID or TrueNAS and I need that the consumption be the lesser possible

I have a lot of questions on which architecture choose.

• I have seen server CPU, but I have no ideas how choose them for my needs

• I will surely go with a server motherboard :
    ASrock Rack have some that are compatible with AMD AM(5 or 4) but not for the classic intel if I choose to not take a server CPU. But I learnt that intel is better for the power management.

• For the RAM, I would like to start with a 64Go more if I can

• For the stockage a good 5 or 10T with one or two SSD should be good to start I think

• for the gaming server, the transcoding of video or Stable diffusion, if I go with AMD or a server cpu, I will need to buy a graphic card no ? Should I use a NVIDIA (4060/4070 ? )

I will choose the case after (surely a 4U for the server (to have the possibility to add a GC) and a 9U for the rackmount.

It is a lot of question, I try to understand all the differences but I prefer asking to people that know more to make a good choice.

Thanks and have a good day !

1 Like

BUDGET!? … :slight_smile:
we need to know how much your willing to spend. :wink:

3 Likes

That a good question, I didn’t tell it to know the price for my needs :smile:
It should be between 1k and 2k.

1 Like

while your waiting for a build guide.

have a look through the playlist you might find some ideas yourself.

2 Likes

Thanks, I will look into that

1 Like