Low budget DAC/Amp

Hey guys and girls,

First of all "Happy New Year" to all of you. I've been a subscriber to the Tek Syndicate YouTube channel for quite a while now and read through the forums a few times - now I have a question to you regarding a new audio setup for my desktop.

Since I'm a student my budget is rather small but I hope I can gat something decent out of it.

After I watched Logan's videos on building your own gaming headset, I thought about upgrading my current setup, which is just a Razer Carcharias hooked up to my onboard soundcard. I'm considering getting a pair of used Sennheiser HD558 or something in that price range and a Mod Mic for all the teamspeak and skype stuff.

But since my onboard soundcard seems to be dying slowly (rear output is just mono, front output picks up way too much noise) I consider buying a DAC/Amp-combo along with the headphones. I've already watched some videos and read some tests and I favor either the FiiO e10 (not the K version) or the SMSL SD 793II.

Can you guys give me any advice regarding those two units or do you have any other recommendation in the 70 € (~86 $) price range?

Thanks a lot in advance :)

I just picked up the SMSL SD-793II and it's awesome. It drives my pair of 50 ohm headphones easily. By the time I get to half volume it's already passed comfortable listening levels

So I guess the sound quality does improve compared to a onboard solution?

Yes definitely, I hear stuff now that I never knew was there before. Less white noise as well due to the DAC

The SMSL stuff is a fine budget solution for fairly low impedance headphones (from what I've heard, I've not listened to it myself), assuming you have an optical out.  High impedance cans may not benefit as much from the SMSL though, as it looks to be fairly low power.  For reference, it seems to put out similar power to the $25 Fiio e6.  Of course, I'm basing that off what little I could find on it's power output, so ymmv.