Looking for possible laptop recommendations

Hello everyone,

I am looking for a laptop that’s less than 2 grand Canadian, that is about 15 inch form factor (weight and size).

I will be coming from an Asus strix glv702vm (i7 7700HQ, 16gb ram, gtx 1060 6gb vram). I am looking for a laptop that is as powerful as my old laptop but smaller and/or lighter as I need to carry it around to school as well.

Use cases include:
-solidworks
-Matlab
-cfd simulation (for research)
-vm
-docker
-gaming/emulation (for emulators I’d like to be able to run some rcps3)
-video editing (like editing gaming clips, or editing simulation and animation exports)

I’m not good with laptop hardware but I’d like (if possible) to have minimum 16 gb ram (possible expansion, if not I’ll have to go higher tier 32gb), the gpu to have atleast 6gb vram. It be nice if I can charge with usb-c or atleast keep charge with usb-c so I can leave the brick at home or something). TB4 would be nice not a requirement (I know amd doesn’t have tb4). And I’m hoping the laptop can retain boost clock for prolonged 100% load for cfd.

Anything not possible on a laptop I’ll move to my x99 desktop and/or school cluster.

I am wondering if this is Feasible? Any suggestions?

Thanks in advance!!

Edit: it be nice if it works with linux as well. Might dual boot

I would recommend a Lenovo T series Gen 3 AMD. You can get it in a 15 inch form factor. If you want a discreet GPU you can go with the Lenovo Legion 5 series. both at AMD Zen 3+ 6800U with 680m iGPU and can be had with 32GiB of RAM. I have an x13 Gen 3 AMD with 6850U and 32GiB RAM.

1 Like

I’ll look into it, so is mobile alderlake a no go for linux ?