Looking for input on a new homeserver

I am looking to upgrade my homeserver and I am seeing used Xeon workstations on ebay for pretty cheap. I was hoping to get some input as to any incompatibility there may be or any better suggestions. It has been a few years since I have researched into building a server

My current server is a old desktop with an i5, 8GB of RAM an 128GB ssd boot drive and a 2TB Spinning hard drive. I am running Ubuntu server with nextcloud.

I am looking at a used HP Z440 with a E5-2683 and 64GB of RAM
was hoping to use m.2 SSD’s with a pcie riser adapter but I have no experience with these.

My usage requirements would be as follows

Nextcloud
5 + TB of Use able SSD storage
Data redundancy. ZFS? I have used freenas before
Webserver for test websites and development

Features I would like but have not looked into enough yet

Remote video encoding / file conversion FFMPEG?
Potentiality a streaming server
Hypervisor or a VM for testing or running multiple applications
Might make a slower server with spinning drives as a backup

I am pretty comfortable with using a server headless over SSH so any Video card I would add would only be for remote encoding.

Any suggestions or things to look out for would be appreciated. Thanks.

2 Likes

AM4 5700g cpus are pretty cheap ATM

I only steer away from old gear these days due to power draw.

How much ram do you think you would actually need? Whats your budget?

They are just adapters remember m.2 is just pcie. You will probably not be able to do the 4 cards on 1 16x slot tho and probably would only be able to do 1 m.2/u.2 per slot.

2 Likes

I am not sure just how much RAM I will need. I do know that ZFS is pretty ram hungry and ddr4 ECC ram is pretty cheap on ebay right now. For me right now I am finding nextcloud is a bit slow but looking at cpu hard drive and ram I don’t see any one limiting out during light use.

Price range $1000 - $1500 USD. cheaper would be better but don’t want something slow.