Looking for a new VPN

Hello,

I am new to the LevelOne Forums. I did a quick search for VPN recommendations and I only found a thread from 2015. I was using express VPN. It worked pretty well, and let me use my peer to peer program without issue. The software itself was a bit flaky, and I suspect it was doing more in the background besides just being my vpn. The software was just that janky, even if it had a fancy coat of paint.

My subscription finally expired and I am looking for a new possibly better one. I was hoping the wise people of this forum could help me out. Anyone have any suggestions? I’d prefer one were I can connect outside the US to a country such as Switzerland so I can run my peer to peer program. A bonus would be to let me use another countries Netflix.

…Or would be my best bet would simply make a free AWS box (or the equivalent) and stick a VPN on it and use that instead? I know people recommend that for a general vpn, but I don’t know how it would cover me from my peer to peer use.

2 Likes

TL;DR: I use NordVPN.

It depends on your objectives for using a VPN. I’m not going to call anything out directly, but if you were going to be doing anything where anonymity is a positive then using an account tied to your credit / debit card without a “no logging policy” is possibly not a good idea.

You have to maintain, manage, patch, and secure the VPN host if you run it yourself. Use tripwire if you’re going to do this IMO.

Do we trust VPN provider X’s no logging policy? Who knows.

Personally, I have limited time and I pay someone else to do it. I value the anonymity, and I value the ability to connect from different locations at a click without administering the server on the other end.

I don’t 100% trust any of the providers on the other end, but I don’t 100% trust many organizations and few people.

I tried TunnelBear, it was nice but I had trust issues.