Log4j/Log4Shell exploit should I be worried?

Not sure exactly where this topic needs to go.

This has been blowing up my various feeds.
I am curious on whether I should be concerned.
I have all my services behind a VPN, with only that port open to allow access from the outside world, which is also on a non default port for wireguard.
At present I havn’t really done anything other than shut down the docker for my kids minecraft server, but that was also never hosted to the outside world.
I did check to see if there was a patch and couldn’t see anything on my phone earlier, so figured the best bet was to just shut’er down until i can find out more.
Would I be correct in assuming that as long as my firewall is good (OPNSense) and wireguard is good, that in essence, im good.
While I have a half decent idea of what I am doing, I am by no means a professional working in this field, yet I also dont want my stuff getting hammered.

edit - for reference one of the big ones was making sure your unifi was up to date, which I have… but again its only ever hosted on the local LAN. I’ll also be quite frank in that i dont think I will have an issue from my neighbours trying to hack my unifi gear.

4 Likes

Not sure about the other services, but Minecraft has a patch. I know spigot also has a patch that is applied with an update. You’ll have to check your docker container to see if these apply to you.

2 Likes

patch if you can, if you cant, then yes be worried.

2 Likes

Yes. To exploit this vulnerability it requires network communication with the HTTP service. If all your services are firewalled off from the outside world, then your only threat would be from the inside.

Here are update instructions
Edit: Removed redundant update link already posted above

2 Likes

do apps store log4j as a separate file? Like as a .js we might search for?

Or would it be a snippet inside a larger program that generates the logs which log4j handles badly?