Live streaming events customization with new ideas

A brief intro. I live stream events. I am wanting to “up the game”, if you will. I am thinking NDI, my own custom wifi when I go somewhere built around speed.
We run multiple cameras and would like to add more. Some would not be able to be wired so we would more than likely have to do NDI wifi or the wireless video TX/RX back to the stream.
I am looking for a solution here that can allow my cameras to go into different areas of the events. or move more easily.
My thought is to make it more like a live broadcast rather than a stale event. I have even thought of adding a van with battery backup items in order to broadcast to a server in the van and then use mobile to stream from there. any ideas are welcome. I have been doing these events for a few years now and want to go to the next step and I am looking for something cool that can help me do that.
To give you an idea of what I am thinking, the new PC is going to be an AV1 capable machine so we can get the bandwidth down and still have great quality. (because I have streamed in someone’s field before)

o god…

Ok, so NDI is nice, its handy but its a long way from good.

WIFI NDI is terrible its not meant for that kind of infrastructure, its effectively send it and forget it, with no real error checking or reliability.

Lets start with a better understanding of your show and budget before we go locking into any idea of what is a start place.

FYI, I have been building, producing, designing, working live productions/events/sports for 20+ years now so I have seen some stuff.

some old highlights since im too lazy to go digging for newer creds.

2 Likes

Replying to my Reply…

How many Cameras or Sources do you want to cut between?

Does this event need “instant replay”?

Are you looking to do graphics over the broadcast?

Where are you streaming to, or is it to multiple platforms?

Are the events your producing Sports, or Sports adjacent like esports?