Little Headphone review

3 weeks ago, I looked into new headphones a little deeper. Thread here

Now that I had my newly aquired AKG K712 Pro for close to a week, I think I can write a review on them:

I have been using AudioTechnica ATH-AD500X‘s for a little over 3 years. Great headphones, some bass, mids are where you expect them, and they don´t screetch at you in the highs. Very comfortable in long sessions.

Why did I get new ones then?

Well, the comfortable on the 500X‘s is achieved by two flaps and low weight. After some time, they sag a bit and then sit on your ears. Then you have to take them off for a moment, massage your ears back into shape put them back on and continue.

Enter the AKG K-712 Pro‘s

Accessories
The usual bits for good reference headphones:
3.5mm to mini-XLR spiraled cable
3.5mm to mini-XLR straight cable
6.3mm to 3.5mm adapter
Velvet (?) protective bag
AKG sticker (very important :P)

The spiraled cable feels a bit odd. It got a rough-ish texture like there is some dust stuck to it. The straight one is a smooth as silk. I like the connector (XLR has a locking tap wich releases with a button).
Compared to the AudioTechnica M-40x and the ATH-AD500X the cables on the AKG feel flimsy.

Feel and comfort
Headband is nice, the auto-adjust works (however, I know from my fathers AKGs that will break in 20 to 30 years) and the cups swivel into place.
The cushions feel stiff at first. After a minute, they sit like they belong (memory foam is amazing).
Clamping factor, neither my AudioTechnica ATH-AD500X nor M40X remind me of the stupid shape of my glasses. The AKG however do. It is not AKG‘s fault, it is simply my glasses having a square plastic bit on the end of the earpieces…
Clamping factor is there, but not nearly as bad as the M40X (and nowhere as light as the 500X).

Ranked from most comfortable to least comfortable:
ATH-AD500X, K-400, K-712, M40X