[Linux] Printer manufacturer for small office

Hi,

We have several small offices and part of my job is keep gears running. Printing is huge pain in the ass for time to time and I am trying to find final solution to user printing experience.

Now we have Brother compo devices for printing and scanning. I have some experience from HP devices too. Biggest problems with Brother is workstation cannot wake up a network printer from sleep. Older workstations with usb connection cannot recognise printer if is powered off during the boot.

Brother installation is covered with bash script installation and all current models is supported for my understood.
HP has some open source software ( distro repo package ) to setup printer, all consumer printers is not supported?

So what is most linux friendly printer manufacturer? I can tell a have something else to do that being a printer helpdesk.

These days, get a network printer, and put it on the same subnet as the systems that print. A lot of distros, *buntus at least, will see it and configure it automatically.

Boring story :wink:
I have a Brother printer and when I got it in 2017-ish I went through the whole installation script thing, which was a hassle to find (I found it on their Singapore site.) Worked greati (waking from sleep not a problem). Then, early 2020, a flaky motherboard caused lots of hangs, and eventually the filesystem got corrupted and I elected to wipe and reinstall Kubuntu. In the drama about resurrecting the system, restoring data, and getting everything reinstalled I clean forgot about the printer. A couple of months later I realized I’d been printing merrily, without configuring anything. It literally just worked.

1 Like

Is connecting the Brother printer directly to the network an option? I used to have mine connected directly via LAN cable and it wakes and sleeps no problem. No need to mess with printer drivers.

Can confirm Ubuntu ease of use for Brother and HP

1 Like