Linux or Windows 10/11 for a Threadripper PRO

Hi @wendell I have been crunching through these forums to understand builds and finally made one myself, here is the config:

1. Threadripper Pro - 5995WX 64 Core/128Threads
  2. D4532R DDR4-3200 64GB ECC/Reg Server Memory - 512GB
  3. 1x6000 ADA + 1x4000 ADA (4000 Only for Display purpose)
  4. ASUS PRO WS WRX80E-SAGE SE WIFI II Extended-ATX

So here comes my question. I am a ML researcher and use the machine for model training and everyday development.

1. Can Windows 10/11 handle this config efficiently ?
  2. I am a big fan and user of POP_OS and I want this machine to rock that. Do you think POP_OS or Ubuntu is a good choice for this beefy machine.
  3. Also could you please suggest a good RDP solution for POP_OS/Ubuntu OS to access it as is with complete GUI. I am referring something similar to Microsoft RDP. But before reaching out to you I tried the below:
    1. Logme in - only gives terminal access
    2. Chrome desktop - it’s a pain, it sticks, it’s draggy
    3. Real VNC - brought a license too but it still it stucks
    4. Tried installing matte server and tried using thin client from my laptop didn’t go well.

Could you and all experts here send me some suggestions please. Thanks in advance.

I would heavily lean towards Linux, when I built my ML rig I installed Ubuntu and I have not had any issues. No OS is perfect but I think Linux is far superior for development.

As far as remote desktop I don’t know exactly what your workflow is but have you looked at remote development through ssh in your ide? I know vscode has the feature and I am pretty sure pycharm does as well.

Thanks @thecoderx for the suggestion. VSCode ssh is a nice option but my use case is that I also need an eclipse running, we have a setup around it. That’s the reason I was looking for a Remote Desktop software as well. And my preference is also Linux too.

1 Like