Linux on Chromebook - Do You Want a Guide? (and Some Basic Guides)

Would anyone like a guide on installing Linux on a Chromebook?

There are various ways to do it and I haven't found many guides demonstrating how to do it and ways to get it to work better.

I'm not very experienced with Linux beyond basic use and such but I can help and point you to other articles (very old articles for some reason) to help.

Also if anyone with more technical experience than I would like to contribute they're very welcome.

These are where I started out and they are fairly out of date. There are two main methods:

Crouton: http://lifehacker.com/how-to-install-linux-on-a-chromebook-and-unlock-its-ful-509039343
This one basically installs alongside ChromeOS and you start it up through Crosh (ChromOS Terminal)

Legacy boot/Local install: http://realityequation.net/installing-elementary-os-on-an-hp-chromebook-14
MAKE SURE YOU CREATE A RESTORE USB. This one installs in a sort of dual boot mode. The guide is for ElementaryOS but you can do it with anything to my knowledge (including Windows but NOTHING works except display and MAYBE keyboard). It also breaks ChromeOS unless you install it on external media and don't do the partitioning thing.

If people want this tutorial I would be happy to help with it. I run Ubuntu trusty with Gnome through Crouton on my chrome book currently. I could do the Crouton part.

Great! Thank you.

What Chromebook do you have?
I have the HP Chromebook 14; I know a lot of people have the Acer C720/p.

That's very helpful for someone experienced with Linux and Chromeos. I was thinking of something a little less in depth and easier for the average user to follow which I have yet to find (well, one that's up to date).

1 Like

I have the ASUS Chromebook C300. Its not amazing, but its not aweful, and it works.