Linux NVIDIA drivers not grabbing all cards

Hello,

I have a workstation running PopOS 20.04 with 4 different NVIDIA GPUs, along with onboard VGA graphics from ASPEED 2500. I have been booting linux into the GUI using the onboard VGA and binding all 4 NVIDIA gpus to vfio-pci for passthrough purposes, and that is working fine - I can passthrough whichever card I like to a Windows guest.

Now I would like to use one of my GPUs (Titan Black) for the linux host GUI. When I removed that card from the list of the vfio_pci.ids, the NVIDIA driver would not bind to it - it was left unbound to any driver. As an experiment, I removed all my GPUs from the vfio_pci.ids list. I found that two of my cards (a GT730 and a Quadro P4000) were bound to nvidia, while the other two (a GTX 1060 and the Titan Black) were left unbound.

Has anyone encountered a similar issue? I’m pretty new to linux, so not sure what logs I should post to provide more information, but want to learn and will follow suggestions.

Thanks in advance. Here are some key parameters of my workstation:

MB: Supermicro X11SRA-F
CPU: Intel Xeon W-2175
Graphics:

1. AST2500
  2. GTX 1060 6GB
  3. GT 730
  4. GTX Titan Black
  5. Quadro P4000

Nvidia driver: 460.73.01

lspci of unbound GPU (note that there is no entry for “Kernel driver in use”):