Linux Install and Backup Questions

Hey all,

Before making the switch to Linux, I have several questions. I’m not a complete noob, but am definitely still a novice. I’ve played around with a lot of distros in VMs, but have never daily driven on bare metal.

Firstly, I feel I should lay out how I have my Windows system set up.

• OS on it’s own drive (Disk 0) with most user directory folders symlinked to a separate drive (Disk 3)
  • Programs that allow changing install location on a separate drive (Disk 1)
  • Games installed on a separate drive (Disk 2)
  • Personal storage on a separate drive (Disk 3)

What Linux folders do I need to mount separately at install to achieve this same type of set up? Also, is formatting the entire system as btrfs a good idea or JUST the OS drive? I like all of the features of btrfs, but am unsure if it is a good idea for the whole system. Suggestions are welcome.

Secondly, I have an external direct attached QNAP device for RAID 1 backup with two Seagate Exos 16TB drives. I currently use Macrium Reflect for daily, full system automatic backups. I do Synthetic Full backups with one Full and 60 Incrementals (one per day) all while using Intelligent Sector Copy, verify image and e-mailing for success or failure.

What open-source program (preferably with a GUI) can I do all of this with? I already plan on using Timeshift for OS snapshots, and as I understand it, that is ALL that Timeshift does.

I sincerely appreciate any and all help and insights.

I plan on learning more cli (noobish) in a VM after the system is fully operational, hence preferring a GUI.

1 Like

First, I can’t find a reason for your setup, other then having a very small capacity disk for particularly the OS. But that’s fine, you’ll have your reasoning and I’m sure it’s valid for your circumstances.

Anyway, I’d recommend delving into the Linux directory tree hierarchy, as it’ll answer your questions by itself once you understand how the tree works.