Level1 KVM 1.4 DP - Mac Mini M1 - CoolerMaster Quick Fire Ultimate Issue

I’ve had my Level1 DP1.4 Dual Monitor 4 Computer KVM for a little while now and it has been brilliant. No more unplugging / plugging cables, no more manually switching monitor inputs. Everything has been smooth except for one issue I can’t seem to get to the bottom of.

I have an old CoolerMaster Quick Fire Ultimate which has served me well, but I am now experiencing an issue with it, the L1 KVM, and my M1 Mac Mini, where it stops responding after a few minutes. This never happens on any of the other Windows based computers connected to the KVM.

Interestingly once the keyboard has frozen (type in characters but nothing registers and displays on the screen, numlock light doesn’t toggle when numlock is pressed, etc), if I switch inputs back to one of the other Windows based computers, the keyboards is frozen there too. I have to power cycle the KVM, or unplug then then plug the keyboard back in to get it to respond. I’ve tried it in the HID and the USB3 port with same issue occurring in both.

If I plug the keyboard straight into the back of the M1 Mac Mini, it works flawlessly.

One thing I noticed is the keyboard has a N Key rollover mode that googling suggests is not MacOS compatible. This is true, the keyboard will not even work directly plugged into the Mac in this mode. I have ensured it is in the 6 Key rollover mode. i have even backed the polling rate back from 1ms to 8ms and that made no difference either.

@wendell any ideas here?

This is probably an edge case with the keyboard itself. Might be best off to get a new keyboard but thought I’d ask the question just in case anyone else has had and fixed a similar issue?

Is anyone using an M1 Mac with a L1 KVM? What keyboard have you successfully used?

@Argone , what keyboard are you using? @THEkitchenSINK you have an M1 too right not sure if mini though

I use software kvms like sharemouse and beta universal control