Learn Python, good idea!?

Hello, :wave:
I need a guidance :mage: total noob in programming ( hardware guy :wink: that want to take a shot with software development. How good of idea is to start with python? I saw part of Programming with Mosh and Corey Schafer Youtube tutorials, are there any good? Have a limited free time unless i can do it on my phone, English not first language. I understand is gonna take a couple of years at least.
Thank you for your time :slightly_smiling_face:

3 Likes

Python is a great language. Theres a lot of Youtube content to help learn. My learning style benefits from a book (learn python in XX days are common titles). If you are new to programming, it might be important to learn the lessons around what programming is made up of: basic input and output to screen, variables, selection (if statements), loops, functionsā€¦ if you understand how to get an idea of something you want to program or script in psudocode using those building blocks, then the language you are using is just googling syntax.

Once you get more senior in using a language, the differences between languages really stand out. The libraries, the speed to process, the community around it. Python is great at all those things.

4 Likes

thank you

1 Like

ĀæHablĆ”s espaƱol? Python and C are my personal favorite languages. They are polar opposites in many ways though, so get good with one before doing the other. And Python is indeed a wonderful language to start programming in. I got access to a bunch of Python Books for really cheap on Humble Bundle. You might want to look into that, and yes Corey Schafer is great.

2 Likes

Just a small tip if youā€™re learning python to make a profit as a programmer