Learn How To Increase UX

Intro

I’m currently a web developer for those of you that didn’t already know that, I handle the full stack, I’ve even begun to get involved with some stuff that may be on the borderline of networking. Anyway, I’ve begun to think heavily about user experience, I don’t know why, I feel pretty happy with my abilities to program complex/advanced applications in an efficient and timely manner. I’ve also begun to feel rather satisfied with my abilities to program an application that’s highly performance friendly, but I feel that my abilities to create an application that’s great from a UX perspective could improve rather drastically.

Examples of Previous UX Work

When it comes to improving the UX side of things, I usually try to think of a car, I try to abstract the user away from the mechanics of it all, and just let them use a simple interface with limited input, the system that I’ve developed doing the rest. An example that I’m fond of is a rather tedious form, I believe that it utilises ~ 100 input elements, however, due to funky CSS & JS I’ve made it seem like there’s substantially less inputs.

Here’s n example of the form in it’s ‘naked’ format:

Here’s something like what I’ve ‘compressed’ it down to:

Both forms have the exact same number of inputs, but I’ve encapsulated some inputs so that there’s 1 UI element that interacts with 2 form input fields. I’ve also made it so that you can progress through the form in steps, rather than intimidate the user with a huge amount of inputs on one screen.

Problem

I feel that there’s a rather large amount that I need to learn in terms of improving UX, I feel like I need to be more creative in my abilities to apply a better and more efficient and all round more enjoyable UI.

So…

1. Do you have any recommendations in terms of how I can improve my UI & UX design abilities?
  2. Do you know of any excellent learning sources?