L1 KVM USB concerns

I picked up a L1 KVM (triple monitor, 5Gbps, 2 PC option) about 5 months ago and since the start it’s given me a small issue.

Every now and then, my PC will lose USB connection to my keyboard and mouse. I’m not unfamiliar with such problems, I work as an IT admin as part of my day job. That’s actually the reason I picked up the KVM. I started a new job working from home and I wanted to use the same displays, KB, and mouse for both my work and home PC use. Work furnished me with a Lenovo laptop with a thunderbolt dock, the dock has 2x display port and one HDMI. I used a recommended HDMI to displayport adapter and I was off to the races. I’ll be clear here: the Lenovo has zero issues. It works flawlessly apart from some small display issues when I switch the KVM over to it, usually requiring a power cycle of a display. I expect that’s more of a display problem than anything.

The issue is with my personal rig. I have a Dell precision 7910 rack as my own computer (it’s crazy to use it as a desktop, but I have my reasons). The problem is that it doesn’t have USB 3.0 available on the back, so I added a USB 3.0 controller for the purpose, but the precision doesn’t really have the usual power headers inside the case, so I found one that works off of PCIe bus power only, and so far (prior to the KVM issues) it’s given me no issues. Enter the KVM. Now, every so often, usually when I’m playing games, I’ll get notification tones from Windows (W10 pro) that a device has disconnected. A second later it will reconnect with the appropriate tones played as well. During that 1-2s of downtime, the keyboard and mouse are quite simply dead. Unable to be used. This poses a problem when gaming, as you might imagine