Kdenlive is superior to davinci resolve

I’ve been using kdenlive for a few years now, and it had its share of growing pains. I edit 4k h264+aac 23.98fps video from a GoPro, roughly 60mbps.

Initially, I had 30fps and used proxy clips in Kdenlive to edit this media at a reasonable frame rate. Timeline at 720p for compositing to run at 4k native 30fps. Still, effects would chug it to a crawl and required disabling during playback to get accurate frame timing.

Eventually, a combination of improvements to Kdenlive and changing from 30fps to 23.98fps gave the system a bit more headroom to run composited 4k without too significant of a drop in frame accuracy, and after the 2nd playthrough it will be nearly flawless. Colour grading layers will still cause a 6-10fps drop, but it’s easy to enable/disable on the timeline.

So, after some time, I’ve wondered have I been missing out on a superior experience? Kdenlive doesn’t even use the GPU to accelerate anything. My little 13 minute videos take almost an hour to render - not bad, considering how many layers and composited transitions I’ve used. I’ve got a Threadripper 1900X, 64G, and NVMe storage with Vega 56 graphics. Kdenlive runs great, but what if something else runs better?

So I tried the free version of Davinci Resolve for Linux. No go - it wouldn’t even read the h264 media without transcoding. I run Windows in a VM with its own RX 570 GPU, so I tried Resolve for Windows there. using h264 caused CPU thermal issues, and the GPU didn’t seem to be very utilised.

I bought the Studio version of Resolve 15 for Linux at a whoppin’ CAD$409 and expected it would Just Work the way proprietary software always claims it will. I was able to import h264 media, but… AAC audio does not work on Linux?!

This isn’t a Linux issue, as AAC works great in Kdenlive. This is a Blackmagic Design issue…