Return to Level1Techs.com

It's time to get (R9 FURY)ous

amd
amdgpu

In this thread, I plan to chronicle the trials and tribulations of overlocking my Sapphire Nitro R9 Fury OC+.

While it is the higher binned variant of Sapphire’s offerings, clocking in at 1050mhz, it already near the maximum limitations that its silicon has to offer - not that the limitations imposed by the architecture, and the functions of Powertune help. But, I am not an electrical engineer that can pontificate and explain how certain design choices can limit the performance of this card. I’m just a guy that wants to tinker and get more power - correction, MOAR POWR!!!1111oneoneone

This will be a multi-post, and probably multi-stage, process, and I hope others join in with their findings, or suggestions, as I make this journey.

Prelude and Setting the Stage

Up until this point, I have never bothered overclocking my card. Why? Overclocking the Fury line-up of cards is, by and large, a fool’s errand. While performance may scale with an increase in clock speed, power consumption required for increased speeds can be described as absurd; for an 5% increase in clock speed, with comparable increase in gaming performance, your power consumption may increase by as much as 25%, depending on amount of voltage you have to feed the card.

Far more success and satisfaction can be had by attempting undervolting. As laid out in this Tom’s Hardware article, there is a lot of efficiency to be gained by undervolting. Depending on your luck, for minimal performance hits, you may end up shaving almost 100 watts of power consumption, which is impressive to say the least.

But we’re not chasing efficiency. This is not a rational venture. This is exploring the limits of what my card has to offer.

Test Setup:
R7 1800X
Gigabyte X370 Aorus Gaming K7
16gb of Corsair 3200mhz DDR4
EVGA 1050 SuperNOVA GS

Preliminary testing has not been favorable in the least.