Is this a good idea?

So, asking out of curiousity, is this even a good idea, combining NAS storage and networking like this? I’m not experienced enough with TrueNAS to evaluate it myself.

I fail to see why this is a good idea. I would really want them seperate

Its not like you’re even saving that much space!

1 Like

I know it is en vogue in the homelab world to virtualize everything and cram as many features as possible into a single set of low-power hardware, but there are major downsides to this approach.

• Every reboot of the server for updates, which is a regular part of server maintenance, means your entire network goes down.
  • Software update breaks a feature of your hypervisor that you are reliant upon? Important parts of your network won’t work until you resolve the software issue, and the solution might not be immediately obvious.
  • Running software with a security vulnerability that is currently unknown to the security community, or make a mistake somewhere in your configuration? If the exploit/mistake allows an attacker to achieve privilege escalation, you personally gave the attacker the keys to the castle.
  • Hardware dies? All of your network is destroyed. This is especially bad with completely proprietary systems using custom hardware like was mentioned in the OP. A dead power supply or motherboard would equal a catastrophe for which the only solution is buying another one of the same item or building another system.