Is there any hardware I should look out for?

I’m going to be buying a laptop soon, and want to run Linux on it. Is there anything I should look for hardware-wise to make sure everything will work with Linux? I’m very new to this.

Sorry if there’s a thread I didn’t notice that I should be reading or posting this in instead.

Thank you

Get as much Intel hardware as possible including NIC and Wifi, avoid any kind of switchable graphics except that bleeding edge hardware wont work as expected / have quirks.

1 Like

Try to get a Intel based Wifi. I had a Lenovo once with a realtek Wifi, I had to find drivers for it via GitHub. It worked in the end but with each nuke and pave to distrohop, I find that I had to have the drivers in a USB nearby.

Like what @diizzy said, switchable graphics is a pain. I’ve heard of an nvidia bumblebee project but it looks dead with the last update on 2015-2016. Nvidia Optimus the Arch Wiki suggest things but since I dont have a laptop anymore, I wasn’t able to test it. You might want to go to AMD or maybe Intel with its integrated graphics or the new Xe graphics for a more smoother laptop experience.

Power management is a perennial issue in Linux and you may have to do manual tweaking if you want to squeeze more performance and/or switch the laptop operate in a more power efficient state.

If you also intend to do presentations in a connected screen (bigger monitor, projectors), take note that you may need to prepare far ahead of time and see how the projected screen behaves or if it can output at all. Also test to see what happens when you suspend the screen or if the power saving features kick in during presentation. See if your machine will wake up properly. Better yet, put it in a performance/always-on mode during the presentation so the screen wont bork.

Linux takes issues with a different screen sizes as well so there is that along with the problems mentioned above.