Is repurposing old Hardware as a Server "worth" it?

So, i recently upgraded to a Ryzen 3600. With that, i have some hardware left over.
In my specific case, an i5 6500, 16G of RAM and a Mainboard for it.

Would it be worth it to repurpose this as a home server? Some things that might play a role here:

• I already have a QNAP NAS
  • I have no clue what the realistic power consumption on the 6500 is
  • I work in IT, so having something to play with would be nice

I’d have to buy an mATX Case, a PSU and that’s probably it. I have an OS SSD left over and will probably just throw some random HDD’s in to have something to play with. No clue if it would replace my NAS.

From my Research, at idle, the System would pull arround 10W, depending on how many Drives i throw in. Maybe more if i go with a cheaper Bronze PSU. At full tilt this could go up to 70 or 80W. So, if i go with the middle, this could be around 80 bucks a year in Electricity.
Am i just better off getting a more powerfull SBC at this point? If i factor in a really cheap mATX case and PSU, this could be quiet pricey. I might be able to also use it as an HTPC though, as the integrated GPU on the i5 might be enough to handle that, letting it pull double duty.

So, would you run this as a “Testserver” and “Playground”, or just don’t bother because running it 24/7 would be expensive?

If you’d run it, what budget option for Case and PSU would you recommend? The smaller the better. Max i’d need is 4x 3.5 inch drives.

1 Like

Yes.
No.
Maybe.

Considerations like whether to eat pizza or not to eat pizza.
The decision is entirely yours. Since you have it, make yourself a test machine. If QNAP is for some reason not ok then replace it. If you have a piece of internet connection then make a machine for fl1t to play with.

1 Like

You can get cases for like $30-40 and PSU for similar,

When you say you work “in IT” if you do courses, having the extra box might be useful for testing, practice and running VM’s