Is Opera Browser Safe?

So I have to admit, as much as I love Vivaldi, I would love to use opera. However with it getting hoovered up by china and all of these...... "Convenient Services" it boasts..... Is it even safe to use anymore?

I ask because I have a lot of incompatibility with websites in vivaldi because the functionality isn't there yet, or theres a bug. For example, if a youtube video is in webm it refuses to play. Soundcloud doesn't work. Things like that, just little things.

works for me in linux. using Vivaldi.

2 Likes

Yeah I'm playing with some stuff on the aur now to see if I'm just missing shit.

I am leaning towards no.

I used to use it quite a bit back in the day, didn't much like IE and Netscape was too slow.

However, I can't really abide it since it sold to a Chinese consortium. That's not based on any evidence of tampering or whatever, just my opinion.

2 Likes

i've been using opera on ubuntu for a couple of years with no suspicion that it was unsafe. owned by a chinese company but the devs are finns so i think they would fight hard against tracking. the vpn service runs through different country servers so that would be my only worry.

as opera is using the blink engine it is as fast as chrome but uses far less mem.

would def suggest trying it.

What browser is safe these days? LOL! I mean in regards to banking and doing similar things I use Google Chrome. In regards to other browsers I used in the past I find that they all are sluggish, freeze up doing certain things, etc.

I'm curious, why do you guys use Vivaldi over Chromium?

I use it because of the customizability. So much to configure and i don't have to go through a BS extension store to do it.

probably all the ridiculous, over the top baked in customizeability

I'm an FF/Seamonkey man myself, but I guess I see the appeal.

You need to compile Vivaldi with the Chromium codecs.

From here: https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Vivaldi