Is isolated "backup" environment for remote work a good idea?

I’m a software developer at a company doing contract work for multiple clients. My actual work is done almost exclusively inside clients’ remote VMs through Citrix Workspace. I have a company-issued laptop and a separate phone (thanks Microsoft for forcing MS Authenticator specifically for 2FA) and I strictly separate work and private matters. This is not required or enforced by either company, just my rule.

The issue is that sometimes things break and I recently suffered from failed BIOS update on my work laptop, it got completely locked up. That’s the one time I’ve broken my separation rule and accessed client’s VM from my private machine, which can be reached from the public web with just a browser.

Do you think it is secure enough to setup a “backup” environment for accessing company resources, for example in a VM? I am thinking of creating an encrypted VM with a copy of my password DB that I would only use for cases where my laptop breaks. I would want to keep it on my PC and on a private laptop I take when traveling. I sometimes work when traveling and I take both private and company devices. I’m living hundreds of kilometers away from my physical office so service or replacement may take multiple days.

Any tips or things to consider?

As a rule of thumb, information on company devices is presumably confidential, and for that reason should not be written down to non-company assets or cloud storage.

If there is a need for a sort of backup solution like you mentioned, I’d go to your manager. If you’re needing to use your personal devices for work, I’d also get permission from your company.

4 Likes

The entire point is, there is no company data that would be stored. All I need is a browser with bookmarks to access portals. There is a matter of passwords, but I actually do remember randomly generated ones for key things as I need to type them sometimes multiple times a day.