Intel working towards 10nm- CPU lithographies

Alright, we're all waiting for what comes after Skylake, right? Right? No? Just me? Aw.
Intel's 'train' of progress seems to be suspended right now. But that's to be expected. I imagine at this time Cannonlake is in the fires, ready to be molded into its selling form. Great. But we all know 10nm is quite a feat of engineering and frankly, at this point, craftsmanship. Intel has done most of the work so far. Moore's Law is telling Intel no and Intel is drawing their sword to strike back. I'm no engineer, but I can certainly say that Intel is going to be milking Cannonlake and its following 10nm processes for a long time as they develop the 7nm process. Even further, I've heard rumors of Intel running for 5 and 3 nanometer processes. WHAT. THE. FUCK. So I create this thread for community input. Is this possible? And even if it was, there is no way we will be able to do this with our current Silicon/FinFET kinda stuff? Is there? What crazy ideas do any of you have? Or think/know Intel will likely have to employ to get anywhere near their goals?

http://wccftech.com/intel-expects-launch-10nm-2017/
http://semiengineering.com/10nm-versus-7nm/

Anything is possible if you put your mind to it. In all seriousness I've heard they've been experimenting with mixing materials into the silicon that could allow for more precision on existing techniques

We're at the point where I almost wish Intel would just push the clock speeds up instead of just making it smaller. Like the IPC at identical clock speeds is just not moving in any meaningful way anymore, so I wish they would work on making the existing lithographies better in hopes of cranking clocks. They aren't going to really give us any more than 6 cores for the next 5 years realistically on the mainstream platform, so they need to make these cores faster. Going smaller only means they can fit more cores on the server parts and thats no fun for us plebs.

1 Like