Intel P3600 1.2tb nvme ssd issue

Hi Guys. I am new to NVME ssds so please bare with me.
I’m trying to use an intel p3600 NVME ssd as my primary boot ssd but I am having some rather odd issues with trying to get it to work as a primary boot drive.

PC specs:
e5-2696 xeon
asrock extreme4 x99
*This asrock motherboard supports xeon CPUs and has support for bootable nvme devices
bios version: 3.60
32gb samsung ecc memory
Ableconn PEXU2-132 2.5-inch U.2 (SFF-8639) SSD PCIe 3.0 x4 adapter

Situation:
I tried using the nvme ssd as my primary boot ssd for windows 8.1. Bios found the intel drive in the advanced nvme config folder and I was able to install win 8.1. I used a USB stick during installation for the specific intel nvme drivers and it installed smoothly. I did notice that every few days my PC would fail to completely boot and it would boot into system restore mode.

I decided to install win10 because I figured it would work better with my nvme ssd and not be as unstable. I started a win10 clean install and it found the ssd and the partitions from 8.1. I decided to delete the partitions in the win10 installer so I could create a new partition and start from scratch. Once I deleted the win8.1 partitions in the installation manager, windows 10 refused to install to the newly created partition, even though I pointed to the correct intel nvme drivers on a usb flash drive. It gave me the error “windows cant write to this disk, computer’s hardware may not support booting to this disk.” There was no specific error code listed as the problem.