Installing a 5.1 system for a TV in a 8m² room without a Sub

Hey there,

I am a total audio noob.

So I just bought this TV: TX-55CXW704 (TX-55CXW704 Produktarchiv: CXW704-Serie | Panasonic) This is the german website.

Here is the english link: (TX-55CX700B 4K TV | Ultra HD TV | Panasonic UK & Ireland). The thing is, mine is the TX-55CXW704, which is only available in Germany. I can only assume that the TX-55CX700B is an equivalent, but I can’t swear on it.

Now my idea is the following:

• Put a 3D Blu-Ray in the Blu-Ray player of my PC.
  • Connect the PC via HDMI to my new TV.
  • Use the Panasonic 3D glasses.
  • Connect a 5.1 system to the TV.
  • Enjoy my own cinema at home.

The question I have is: Will this all work. Like, will the TV use his own speakers (or the ones I have connected) and not the ones connected to the PC (source of image)… Like, I am really new to this whole topic and have no idea if that all works.

If it does, I would like to know if there is anything I have to pay attention to, when buying a 5.1 system, or if they will all work on my TV. Because I think it’s unnecessary for example to buy a system with a Blu-Ray player, since I have one in my computer. Because if I were to connect the 5.1 system to the Blu-Ray player of the 5.1 system, then I would have no sound, if I watch something from my computer on my TV through HDMI. This would (hopefully) only work via HDMI.

I am not sure if you can follow me. If so, please feel free to throw all noob advices at me that you got. If I missexplained something, feel free to ask. I will try my very best to explain everything to you guys!

Appreciate your time and help granted to me :slight_smile:

Cheers
Niklas

In short ...yes

But with some caviates:

1) You CANNOT do 4k and 3D at the same time due to bandwidth limitations of HDMI 2.0 (or even Display Port). It is impossible unless the TV will take two HDMI connections (or 1 HDMI 1 display port) from your video card at once.