Improving Guitar Playing

So I've been playing guitar for a few years now and I've gotten considerably better over the past few months but I am still not that great of a player.

For the most part, I struggle with improvisation. I can't make any solo's or riffs on my own. Are there any guitar players here that have some advice to lend? So far, some of my friends who also play have told me I should learn pentatonics, diatomics, and harmonizing. Most importantly practice. Tell me how you guys practice because there's no real organization or plant to my practice sessions. Any advice is greatly appreciated!