Idea for an electronics project for Uni next year (self-tuning guitar?)

To cut this short, I'm currently studying EE with a focus on technical IT and we need to do a project next year. The problem is that I somehow fell in a different regulation and suddenly need to do my project sooner than most other people. So even though the project is supposed to be done next year (and we still haven't learned lots of the stuff that is needed to complete the project) I need to come up with an idea for a project within the next few months.

First of all I'd like to ask for ideas that fit the criteria, I know it's a bit silly since you have no clue what is in my curriculum, but just some basic ideas would be awesome. The idea has to: be do-able with our equipment (basic EE lab equipment), not be too costly (I'll be happy to pitch in some money of course but I simply don't want to spend hundreds of bucks on a Uni project), fix some sort of issue or provide a new solution (you can't just build an already existing product, like a headphone amp, even if you designed it yourself), be original in some form, not focus too much on mechanical stuff (motors or little robots are fine, but you're not supposed to build all that stuff from scratch and then just do really basic electronics and programming). That's the rough outline.