I wish I never looked behind the curtain

I am a severely fucked up person. I used to be an engineer and a graphic designer, but now I collect disability because I am too mentally ill to keep a job. I have been in treatment for years for depression, Bi-polar, Borderline Personality disorder and anxiety attacks.

Part of my treatment is DBT or Dialectical Behavioral Therapy. It is more like a college course that teaches emotional distress tolerance among other things. My therapist has a dog-eared manual and she gives me photocopied homework. It works but it is hard to remember all those new skills. So I bought the book.

BAD MOVE. First off it is written for psychiatrists so it is hard to understand. Second, I am reading about the cause of my problems but I don't have the emotional detachment to analyze it because it is happening to me. Third, I didn't really want to know just how fucked I am. It seems hopeless and a waste of time to even try to improve my situation. But that is the illness talking. SHUT UP! It's worse than going to WebMD to learn how to do surgery.

But, hey. I'm just at the beginning and the exercises that I wish to reinforce are in the later chapters. The beginning seems like "This section is for master wizards only, under no circumstances should you let your students play around with your magic wand." I think this book may be dangerous. Most days "Normal Cort" will shoot down anything resembling a positive attitude. "Good Cort" has to fight that guy everyday just to stay alive and he's doing Ok considering.

you're not fucked up dude. you just have problems like everyone else in this whole world. you can use that book to ask your therapist questions and might bring you better clarity on your troubles.

sometimes being aware of something negates it's affects on you too. so i duno man. you're in a difficult situation but im sure you can overcome it.

2 Likes