I want to buy a proper camera, what do i need to know?

For a long, long time i’ve been frustrated by the pictures i take with my phone, specially after i upgraded to my current Xiaomi Black Shark 1, which has an ok sensor but awful software to back it up, GCAM helps but its not a miracle app.
Not only that, i’m extremely frustrated with the logistics course i’m in right now, i don’t feel happy at all studying for that, i want to switch over to photography.
However i have zero experience with since i’ve had no opportunity to either own or try out any proper camera, so i don’t really know what specs i should look for or what kind of camera body i should seek out to buy.
Not long ago i mentioned this new interest in the lounge and @noenken said i should try to find a used Fujifilm X100f or X100t to start the hobby with, but the only ones i’m able to find over here (Brazil) are exorbitantly expensive, which is a shame because it seems to be a pretty cool camera to carry around.
In short, i don’t know what to look for, what i want is to take decent pictures in both bright daylight and at night with indoors and outdoors lighting (which is where my phone almost refuses to take a proper picture), i’ll be mainly taking pictures of static objects like cars, landscapes and products over a table.
As a point of reference, i know some photography courses around here use Canon Rebel T6s and T7s as the main practice cameras, and i know i can afford up to the Rebel SL2 price.

How deep are your pockets, and how good are your rummage sale skills?

I assume my proper camera you mean a (d) SLR?

Any of the big names are great, and the smaller names are fun too.