I wanna make a Game

Hey, guys, I wanna make a game; and I want to make it in Rust. The problem is, I have never done this before. I also have never really used Rust before - at least not for a project of mine. I started the tutorial in the Book and made a guessing game, but I never finished it and ultimately decided that I wanted to restart since it’s been awhile.

However, the bigger problem is that I’ve never made a game before. I figure I am going to need a game engine. So I started looking for Rust game engines. I found Amethyst and Bevy. I thought I might use Bevy since it has a reputation of being simpler for beginners, but it recommends using a more stable game engine for my Next Big Project™ - such as Godot with (GitHub - godot-rust/gdnative: Rust bindings for Godot 3). So, what do you guys think? I know I am a little in over my head, but this is something I really want to do.

P.S.: Not that it matters too much, but I know what game I am making. Basically, I want to take the train system in Factorio, and build a resource management game around that. I shared my idea with a friend of mine - who also loves Factorio and its glorious train system - and we hashed out a bunch of ideas together for this game. I hope you guys understand me not sharing too many details, though. My idea is awesome, but I understand if someone thinks I should try building a simpler game first.

1 Like

Here, I took the liberty of asking chatgpt about this.

I hope the compression isn’t too harsh and the text is easily readable.

1 Like

Some quick beginner tips;

1. Start way small. And I mean WAAAY small. Start by making a simple game that just outputs a few pixels. Pong is essentially the Hello World of games and even that has quite a few gotchas.