I need some help making sense of this

Summary

I need some serious help.

This file should create mean average blur effect using a 3x3 kernel.

I am trying to change it to perform a gaussian blur with a 7x7 separable kernel.

The problem I am running into is that the code I posted makes very little sense to me. Most of it seems to be formalities revolving around opengl.

I am wondering if someone can tell me how this program works. I am a matlab noob in a C world and I am confused as all hell.

First off, that looks like someone is writing object-oriented code in C. And it calls tons and tons of other functions from all over Clutter (me having never seen most of it's source code doesn't help here and means I'm pretty much unable to describe what this does without using the words "that thing there what does something").

Basically it defines a blur GLSL shader around line 60. Then follows a whole load of code that seems reasonably generic, then around line 130 it fetches a specific texture from somewhere, gets it's width and height, then does something with it.
Then around line 162, it does something different which kind of looks like it's applying the blur effect.

Methods and functions related to our class/struct:
clutter_blur_effect_pre_paint() equal to calling pre_paint() inside our class (struct)
clutter_blur_effect_paint_target() equal to calling paint_target() inside our class (struct)
clutter_blur_effect_get_paint_volume() equal to calling get_paint_volume() inside our class (struct)
Initializer: clutter_blur_effect_class_init()
Constructor: clutter_blur_effect_new()
Destructor: clutter_blur_effect_dispose() equal to calling dispose() inside our class (struct)