HTML Emails

Anyone got the rules for what to do and what NOT to do with HTML emails? I've never done it before, never even looked into it, I'm only now aware that you have to use tables like your life depends on it with html emails. I've also just learned that you can't use CSS really?

Today is my first day of doing HTML email templates, so if anyone can tell me the ins and outs of what to do, what not to do, etc. That would be great.

1 Like

http://foundation.zurb.com/emails.html

Go with that and you're golden.

Generally regarding your own content stick to whatever HTML4 can do and you're safe. Everything else use and test however you can.

Unfortunately, caniuse doesn't show E-Mail Clients.

You can use CSS, but it can be a pain.

You must include all styles in the page. You cannot simply link to style-sheets hosted elsewhere. Inline styles also work.

Other than that, its basically just a HTML page in an email format.

@mihawk90 & @judahnator

I've been specifically told, in writing, I'm not allowed to use classes or id's, and the part that I find INSANELY annoying is that I can't test the work myself, I have to send it off to be tested.

I mean we're trying to cater for Outlook 2000 and stuff even older than that again. And using simple things like the html attribute 'bgcolor', it isn't working according to the test results, and I've been told I'm not allowed to use CSS too, so I'm a little confused there... Any ideas?... Only other way I can think of doing this email is by using the designs I've been provided and just use a bunch of images, not actual readable content. That's the only light I can currently see at the end of the tunnel.

I've literally been doing everything but that, I've made it into mostly images, and then just used col span, align, width, height, base font, font, etc... All just html tags/attributes though, it's not even using the style attribute.. I genuinely didn't even know of basefont until yesterday.