How to use/size functions in Python

Dear all,

I have “discovered” functions in python (I am a CS Student) and now I am using them for everything, kid in a candy store style.

My question is how do you guys size them?
Have one function that does everything?
Or dozens of small functions?

How do you decide when one function is over and the next one starts?

Kind regards, and thanks for the help

If you ever plan on cutting code professionally, you will learn to modularize things so that you can reuse code in other projects. Basically you start making modular templates that do something, one thing, very well and you can then copy and paste then around and modify them to suit the needs.

It is better to have core functions that perform a specific task and give back specific information. You can then make helper functions that will manipulate and massage the data that you are feeding to and retrieving from the function that acts as an interface to the task at hand.

Does that make sense? Have you covered deterministic machines or discreet mathematics or finite automata yet?

god I’m glad it has ended

read Clean Code if you can, you’ll understand more about functions

but functions are good, they can be used many times and they’re your friend

search for SOLID principles, that also should answer your question

get a function to do only one thing and do it well, then call it whenever you need that action

some software can be mostly made of functions, and basically a REST API is a bunch of functions tied to endpoints

how far into programming are you?

1 Like

I would advise reading Pragmatic Programmer 2nd edition contains a chapter about DRY (don’t repeat yourself) principle and why it’s not what people think it is. It’s important to note that reflection of what not to do is in 2nd edition only because people misunderstood it and made way more problems than improvements.