How to truly test password security?

So I am sitting here inserting a password I made up our of special characters, numbers, letters, in alternating case, and every thing that comes up gives me a full green bar. However, how do I really know that its that secure?

Is there a user side benchmark for passwords? Do I just run aircrack against it and see when the machine explodes?

I found this link on L1T. I dont know if it answers your question tho, I’m a total newbie.

1 Like

Publish it on the internet and see if you get hacked!!

vywTb4doY@C4a558QiiJG~8NlfOk&o~CbsA$2eTv come at me bro!

I generally don’t trust the sites where you have to enter your password and they evaluate it. Some of the sites are client side or can be run as stand alone on your machine. You can use those sites to get a sense of security, just don’t use your actual passwords.

I tend to go for longer, random passwords and don’t get too hung up on the size of the keyspace or if there are at least 3 different kinds of symbols or no more than 3 capital letters in a row, but at least 4 non-numeric, non-symbol, non-lowercase characters in a row.

I think 100+ to 250 bits of entropy is secure for our lifetime, depending on the content that the password is protecting. I also use a password manager so that I don’t have to remember 20+ random characters for each password that I use.

2 Likes

I don’t have a good enough ROT with my devices being in flux all the time LOL

to know if your password secure you have to know what hackers do to crack them.

kind of password is best?.
upper/lower case, numeric and special chars with 10 or more characters is currently to long to crack in any reasonable time. if the hacker is using brute force.
thats not to long to crack, but will take days or weeks even, on a 3090ti or equiv
basically the longer the better.

if your password hash has been leaked then its a case of is the hash crackable. (psst most are).